First Day as a Veterinary Assistant!

First Day as a Veterinary Assistant!

Hey guys! I’ve got some exciting news! I am now a veterinary assistant at an animal hospital in my area!

I am very excited to start this new chapter in my life and I am so happy that the people I am working with seem to be so nice and knowledgeable. I am going to learn so much, I can already tell.

Starting this new job has made my week EXTREMELY busy. I am still working part time at my previous job and I am trying to make sure to take care of everything I need to. I have been so tired, soar, and kinda bitter this past week but I am still really excited to go back tomorrow. (However I’m not excited to be getting up at 6am)

For today’s post I wanted to tell you guys about my first day there. In case you guys want to know what it will be like. Obviously everyone’s experience will be different but this is a good start.

My day started at 7:15 in the morning and I began by meeting up with the person that I was going to be shadowing that day and talking to her about what that day was going to look like. We took care of the animals that were being boarded or that were there overnight for post-op surgery. We took dogs outside, gave everyone fresh food and water and then started to do some laundry.

Throughout the day we worked on the laundry and cleaning the equipment that the veterinarians had used for surgery or other situations and helped them with anything that they needed.

That’s basically all I did all day. I just kinda walked around and helped with whatever needed to be done. I watched some surgeries and got to learn so much on how a clinic is run in such a short amount of time. I really liked it. I know the more I work there the more I will be able to do and the more I will like it, but I am really excited for this new chapter in my life.

There will be many more stories to come on my experience as a veterinary assistant so make sure to subscribe to my blog to know when those new posts come out.

Sorry for the short and kinda lame post for the day but I am still getting used to this new schedule and figuring out how to get everything done. Thanks for being patient with me during this time!

Facebook- Animal Digest Fur Real
All Rights Reserved

One thought on “First Day as a Veterinary Assistant!

Leave a comment